First Colt basketball players introduced at fundraiser

Updated: August 3, 2018

The University of Arkansas Cossatot Colts will begin play this fall. Pictured are (from left): team member Devin Threadgill of Foreman, UA Cossatot Colts Basketball coach Warren Bane, team member Tanner Owens of Centerpoint and team manager Dillion Blount of Mineral Springs.

By Emily Newlin

UA Cossatot Media Relations

Ninety people attended a college basketball team fundraiser hosted by the University of Arkansas Cossatot Foundation on July 20, 2018, at the UA Cossatot Bank of Lockesburg Gymnasium.

UA Cossatot Colts Basketball coach Warren Bane introduced the team jersey and first college basketball players at the event. Devin Threadgill of Foreman and Tanner Owens of Centerpoint will join the inaugural season in the fall. Dillion Blount of Mineral Springs will join the team as manager.

“This was my first drawdown event,” Bane said. “It was a lot of fun, and everyone seemed to have a good time. I appreciate the support that people showed for our new team.”

UA Cossatot Chancellor Steve Cole and Ed 88 Radio Station Manager and Instructor Loren Hinton emceed the drawdown. The final 10 ticket holders decided to split the $5,000 drawdown prize, $500 each way. Winners were Margaret Griffin, Ned Hendrix, Charlotte Johnson, Hardie Reynolds, Jody Abernathy, Sheila Ridley, Emily Newlin, Russell Wake, Mike Cranford, and Angie Walker.

The first UA Cossatot Colts basketball game will be in November 2018.