QC holds first meeting of 2018

Updated: January 12, 2018

By Quinton Bagley

Little River News

The Little River County Quorum Court held its first meeting of the new year on Monday at the Little River County Annex Building.

Following a prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance by JP Gene Smithson, JP Bobby Furlow made a motion to approve the December 2017 meeting minutes. JP Larry Cowling seconded and the motion carried.

Furlow then made a motion to accept the December 2017 treasurer’s report. Cowling seconded and that motion carried as well.

The Court then passed a pair of ordinances. The first, Ordinance No. 0-2018-1, was a clean-up ordinance to transfer money from one account to another to rectify any shortfalls or unforeseen expenses.

The second ordinance, Ordinance No. 0-2018-2, was for appropriation of donation moneys. Cowling made a motion to accept the ordinance and Furlow seconded. With a roll call vote, the ordinance carried.

Little River County Sheriff Bobby Walraven passed out his report. He thanked all the elected officials for helping him with his first year in office. Walraven has a meeting set up with USDA to discuss grants.

Little River County Judge Mike Cranford gave his report. He stated that per Sterling Penix’s recommendation, a Jail Standards Work Group has been created. The group members are Judge Charles Yeargan, Judge Tom Cooper, Judge Johnny Finley, Cranford, Walraven, Little River County Jail Administrator Gina Butler, Ashdown Mayor James Sutton, Ashdown Police Chief Body Kennemore, Prosecuting Attorney Bryan Chesshir, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney Al Smith, Clayton Tinkes, Mickey Buchanan, Donald Cook, Daniel Linnett, Ricky Fawcett, Jeff Sikes, David Day, Denise Riley, Kelly Krause, Anthony Nelson, Tommy McDonald, Morris Johnson, Joe Mack Bennett and Tim Turk.

With no further business before the Court, the meeting was adjourned. The Little River County Quorum Court meets at 9 a.m. the second Monday of each month in the Little River County Courthouse Annex.